Reviewer Info

Oysterpot
Reviews: 5
Helpful Reviews: 4
Average Overall Rating   Average Overall Rating
Reviews
Date of Stay: August, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
N/A    Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
This is a fairly new Park, and it is set up very nice for the large RV's I came in with a 32' towing, and had no problem getting in. Did not use restrooms, so won't rate or comment. The sites and roads are gravel?, or should I say they are a gravel clay soil mix. Thin on the gravel. We had a rain during our stay, and you could see where the pads on an RV sunk about 3 inches, the mud flowed with the water. The folks were friendly, and I was able to get a site with no planned reservation, but to the point, they weren't full and it was Sturgis week? I don't know why not but it was good for me. The CG is very handy to the tour sites in the area. Black Hills, Mount Rushmore etc. Would I stay here again absolutely. My suggestion to the owners is to get good clean gravel and put it down for the roadways and sites, also making a ditch or a means of draining excessive rain water.
1 people found this review helpful
Fredericksburg KOA

Fredericksburg, TX

Date of Stay: June, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
N/A    Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
We stated with these folks for 3 nites, so we could tour Fredericksburg.
I think I checked in with the owners, if not well kudos to who ever it was. They understood my humor, and were very friendly and genuinely nice and cheerful.
The park was very spacious, maybe a little tight with the lot sizes, but livable. Clean, tidy, and even had native live stock on the perimeter. For us "tourists" it interesting to be able to observe them up close.
My only criticism with ALL the KOA's as well as the rest of the parks I have been to, they do not have play area (off leash) for the larger breed of dogs.
Fredericksburg has 2 nice size areas that could be used for just such. In my case my Golden Retriever is extremely "velcro" and has been accused of not even biting a bisquit, and would not be an issue if he was off lead. I understand the leash law, but accommodations should be made for the larger breeds. If this had been provided a 5th star would have been provided.
0 people found this review helpful
Date of Stay: June, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
I have no children, so this is tough to rate Appeal. Lacks entertainment for children. Great place to serve as base camp for stay and touring of Waco area. We stayed 3 nites, Now for the champagne of the appeal. Free and excellent to order breakfast. I thoroughly enjoyed this as I didn't have to cook one meal between eating breakfast and touring. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Yes even the "ole Bubblehead". So if you are an ex Sub Sailor, he will love to chat with ya.
1 people found this review helpful
Date of Stay: June, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
The roads are in dire need of work. The speed bumps are so high my jacks plowed them. The rules for pets are NOT enforced as a long term's hound was allowed to run, and my site had dog droppings from previous tenants. Crews made no attempt to clean the site. I complained of this as I had to be very careful not to step in them working my hook ups.
The Laundry rooms and machines were gross. My wife wouldn't even use them
2 people found this review helpful
Thursday, June 15, 2017
Response from Barefoot Bay Marina and Resort
6-14-17
Dear sir/mam,
I am sorry that you had problems with the roads. We have had an unusual amount of rain this spring and the roads were in bad shape throughout Camp County. We have since repaired our roads and speed bumps.
I am sorry you had problems with the dogs. I am addressing this problem as we speak.
I can't imagine why the laundry rooms were dirty, as they are usually very clean. I will check into that also and correct any and all problems.
Again I apologize that you had an unpleasant time. Please come back to see us and call me. Perhaps I can can treat you to lunch.
903-238-6194
Sincerely,
Don Talley (owner)
Date of Stay: June, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
N/A    Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
I cannot rate the rest rooms, but the rest I can rate.
I would have much preferred to stay in a Walmart parking lot. As mentioned in other reviews, there is no room between campers, Fortunately the site next to mine was empty and I was able to cut across its entry drive.
The whole site was asphalt, just like a Walmart parking lot. The roads are in much need of repair. If I am in this area again, I will find a parking lot and use it. It is at least free. I unfortunately have been in a few Good Sam parks that should not have been rated the way they are. I am starting to loose faith in the Good Sam rating.
5 people found this review helpful
Review Page(s)
1 
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.