COTTONWOODS RV PARK at COLUMBIA, MO
COTTONWOODS RV PARK at COLUMBIA, MO
COTTONWOODS RV PARK at COLUMBIA, MO
COTTONWOODS RV PARK at COLUMBIA, MO
COTTONWOODS RV PARK at COLUMBIA, MO
COTTONWOODS RV PARK at COLUMBIA, MO

Cottonwoods RV Park

Good Sam Park Type
Good Sam members SAVE 10% at this location.
Not a Member? Learn More
5170 N. Oakland Gravel Rd
Columbia, MO 65202

Cottonwoods RV Park (11)   View All Reviews  |  Write a Review

Share this location

GOOD SAM RATING (?)
Facility

10

Restrooms

9.5

Appeal

10

How to Read Good Sam Directory Ratings

The three-number rating that accompanies each campground listing in the directory gives readers an at-a-glance assessment of a campground's amenities, cleanliness and environment.

How to read the Good Sam Rating 10/10 /10.
All three ratings categories are measured on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the best.Less than 1 percent of parks or campgrounds receive the coveted 10 / 10 / 10 rating, which indicates superior facilities that are well maintained, clean, well-appointed restrooms and a highly appealing appearance.Campgrounds are inspected annually by dedicated RVers like you.

Completeness of facilities

10 / 10 / 10
The first campground rating evaluates completeness and quality of facilities.In this category we rate interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance.

Cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms and showers

10 / 10 / 10
The second rating category concerns the cleanliness and physical characteristics of toilets, walls, showers, sinks/counters/mirrors and floor. If a park achieves a full point in each of the above, it receives a star (), indicating exceptionally clean restrooms.

Also rated are physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.

Visual Appeal and Environmental Quality

10 / 10 / 10

This category addresses the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.

Learn More & Check Us Out

Card(s) Accepted:
Debit, Discover, Visa, Master Card
Last Year's Rate:
$38 to $44
Season:
Open All Year

Facility

Type (RV Park)
Dump Station
Partial Handicap Access
Emergency Phone

Policies

Folding Tent Campers Allowed
AAA Approved
Pets Welcome
Tent Camping Allowed

Sites

Spaces Available (97)
Width (30)
Max Length (60)
All-Weather Sites (97)
30 Amp
50 Amp
Shaded (Some)
Big Rig Sites
Full Hookups (97)
Max Amps (50)
Pull-thrus (63)
Pull-thru Size (30 x 60)
Back-ins (30 x 50)
Room for Slideouts (Yes)
Site Length (60)
Patios
Fire Rings
Table at Site

Tenting

Dedicated Tenting Area

Internet

WiFi at Overnite Sites
WiFi at Park
WiFi at Park Supports Mobile Devices
2 Devices supported per Overnite Site
97 Sites with WiFi

Recreational Facilities

Swimming Pool
Swimming
Rec Hall
Playground
Outdoor Games
Pavilion

Other Amenities & Services

Road Condition (Good)
Road Type (Paved)
Restroom and Showers
Laundry
RV Supplies
Metered LP Gas
Firewood
Ice
Groceries
Onsite RV Service
Restrooms

Discounts

AAA Discount
Military Discount
Good Sam Discount
Customer Reviews:
Cottonwoods RV Park
Avg Rating 3.91 Cottonwoods RV Park (11) Reviews
Avg Facility Rating   Avg Facility Rating
interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance...
Avg Restroom Rating   Avg Restroom Rating
cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
Avg Appeal Rating   Avg Appeal Rating
the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.
Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 2
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: November, 2015
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
N/A   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
My husband and I stayed just one night here on our way across the country for Thanksgiving. I wish we had more time because this park was wonderful! The grounds were beautiful and very clean. The park was quiet and in a nice area, and easy to find as well. Although we didn't take advantage of them, they had lots of amenities. I didn't see the restrooms or showers, but I've never seen a cleaner laundry room! And the machines were the commercial variety, so you actually got clean, dry laundry at a decent price. The nightly rate was good and park management friendly and helpful. Our four-legged friend was happy as well since the park had a nice dog walking area. If we ever come this way again we would love to stay awhile and see the area. Please consider this park if nearby!
Was this review helpful?   (4)
Response from Cottonwoods RV Park:
9/3/2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you and your pet enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Reviews: 9
Helpful Reviews: 7
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: May, 2016
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
Overall, a nice place to stay. The bathrooms were NOT 10 star as currently rated, only average - shower stalls very small and cramped. Park staff not very helpful with our RV mechanical problem, Very POOR wifi.
Was this review helpful?   (2)
Response from Cottonwoods RV Park:
9/3/2016
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate all feedback from our guests so that we can continually improve the park for our guests. We are sorry to hear that the wifi was not working very well during your stay, we have recently upgraded our wifi and we are working on finishing the install this week so we hope next time you are in the area you will stop in and check out the new and improved wifi.

We're also sorry to hear that you were unable to get help with any RV trouble during your stay. While we don't do RV repairs, we do business with a local RV Repair company called Commercial Truck & RV Repair, who will come out to the park and repair your RV on site, unless it is a major repair. We keep their information on flyers and business cards in our office/store and we are always happy to help refer you to them. If you have any RV trouble in the future, please let us know and we would be happy to help. Thank you again for your review, we appreciate your stay and we hope to see you again in the future! Wishing you safe and happy travels!
Reviews: 9
Helpful Reviews: 5
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: October, 2015
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
Nice facility at a good location near to I-70 in Columbia, MO. We stayed two nights while enjoying biking on the KATY trail from two nearby trailheads. Bass Pro Shop is nearby. Bathroom rated a 4 simply because one of the stools was loose.
Was this review helpful?   (2)
Response from Cottonwoods RV Park:
10/20/2015
Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your opinion and it helps us to address any issues we may need to resolve. The toilets have been reset and anchored tightly. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: April, 2016
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
N/A   Facility Rating
N/A   Restroom Rating
N/A   Appeal Rating
There add specifically says full hookup. I consider full hookup to mean, sewer, water, electricity, and cable. Indeed on this trip we have stayed in 18 locations and this is the only one that did not supply cable. They did have internet which was good but no cable and at 40.00 per night
Was this review helpful?   (1)
Response from Cottonwoods RV Park:
9/3/2016
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your opinion and we value any feedback that helps us improve. Our park does offer full hookups which include electric, water, and sewer at each site. Unfortunately, cable stops 500 feet from our park and despite our request for expansion so that we would be able to provide cable to our guests, we are still unable to offer cable at this time. We do however off Free Wifi and we have laundry, restrooms, showers, a rec room with gym equipment and a DVD and Book Library, as well as a pool and social activities on site for our guests. Thank you again for your feedback. We wish you safe and happy travels!
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Date of Stay: August, 2016
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
N/A   Facility Rating
N/A   Restroom Rating
N/A   Appeal Rating
We are frequent visitors for Mizzou games.. Friendly and helpful staff as well as an inviting and clean environment, but the internet that is advertised never works. They keep saying that they are working on it when we come to stay, but it never is finished. It's too bad, because it's a great place but they don't deliver what is advertised and they haven't fixed it like they say they have been for months in the times we've stayed.
Was this review helpful?   (0)
Reviews: 28
Helpful Reviews: 23
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: September, 2016
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
This is a great RV Park, there is a lot that can be said...with one caveat. This is a large park that is clean and neat. It is being maintained constantly. Check-in was easy at a very nice store/gift shop/ office. They actually had a lot of products in stock, both food and camping supplies as well as souvenirs and gift items. We were able to buy milk!! The grounds are manicured with a lot of flowering shrubs and plenty of shade trees. There is a large covered picnic pavilion with a big, big fire pit and lots of tables and grills. There is a pool that is clean and looked very inviting, though we didn't try it. Also a children's playground that looked new. Nearby was a very nice wooden gazebo for just relaxing out of the sun and enjoying the flowers. Each site has a picnic table and the front row sites each have a chimenea, but open fire pit fires are not allowed. There is also a rally room and one of the nicest "Rec" rooms I have encountered with real exercise equipment, book and dvd exchange, and tables and chairs for just getting together. The bathrooms are clean and well appointed, the showers were hot, though I believe the shower enclosures needed some scrubbing...probably hard water. Basins, mirrors and counter tops were all squeaky clean.
The "Heads-Up" for this campground: the roads are narrow,and the sites are tight, making for very shallow turns. Get the walkie-talkies you use for back-ins and send your navigator out to help you pull into your site. Even the Old Pros who have pulled into thousands of campsites, should send someone out to watch. Large RV combinations definitely need extra help. Someone from the office will also help. The park enforces overflow parking, the roads are as clear as possible, just not wide and decorative shrubs and boulders edge the site entrance and exit. Drive careful and enjoy this wonderful oasis off the road. Relax!
Was this review helpful?   (0)
Reviews: 7
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: September, 2016
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
The grounds were well-maintained and lots of flowers in bloom. The restrooms were very clean and the staff very friendly. The only downside, The hook ups for the next site were right next to your picnic table/slab. Fortunately we did not have anyone there. Also my ankles have a couple dozen bites and it wasn't mosquitoes. I noticed it walking the dogs. Next time I'll wear socks! All and all it was nice.
Was this review helpful?   (0)
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Date of Stay: August, 2016
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
We stayed 1 night as we were having work done on our vehicle that we tow our travel trailer with. After setting up left for hr when returned a paper was stuck to our door as well on a lot of other campers stating in very unfriendly terms that dogs off leash or not cleaned up after would require a penalty for you to leave. We hadn't even set foot out the door. Bathrooms although clean full of signs. We travel 5 months and never have I heard of no drying hair in bathroom. The row of sites we were on is almost empty has been, which is nice as very close. Upon calling dealership they are taking longer to fix car by a few hours. Check out is noon, we informed them of our predicament and they told us a $1 per hour charge over checkout time. Not the money, but total lack of caring. I would probably shop around next time and avoid this stop. It makes a difference if run by owners or just managed by help.
Was this review helpful?   (0)
Response from Cottonwoods RV Park:
9/3/2016
Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate your opinion and it helps us to address any issues we may need to resolve. We apologize that the Pet Clean Up Notice came across as unfriendly. Since some of our guests don't notify us of pets traveling with them, we are unable to put notices only on pet owner doors so any notices posted in the park are posted to every door. If you are not a pet owner, we apologize. The notice most definitely does not apply to you if you are not a pet owner - it is only in effect to protect you and other guests from any pet issues such as animals being off leash or pet waste that was not cleaned up. If it came across as unfriendly, we certainly apologize. We love all of our guests in the park and we want to make sure that everyone has a safe, clean, and great time while staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again the future. We wish you safe and happy travels!
Reviews: 3
Helpful Reviews: 2
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: February, 2016
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
We stayed at Cottonwoods 5 nights while in town for the SEC swim dive championship meet. This place is very convenient to campus which is exactly what we needed since we made two trips a day. The bathrooms/showers were very clean and the whole area is very well kept. Staff was very friendly, site were well maintained and pretty much level. My biggest complaint (2 stars on Appeal Rating) is the sites are way too close together for my liking. They have a concrete slab with a picnic table at each site. Your camper is next to one side of the slab then next to the table slab are the hook-ups for the next site. A little to cozy for me. The also seem to cater this time of year (Feb) to people staying longer term. Sever campsite with multiple cars, and large external propane tanks.
Was this review helpful?   (0)
Response from Cottonwoods RV Park:
9/3/2016
Thank you so much for your great review. We appreciate your feedback which helps us continually improve. We understand about the site proximity being close for our guests. Cottonwoods was built 23 years ago and changed ownership in January 2016. We are learning that sites will need to be expanded and updated to accommodate our guests' expanding RVs. We are hard at work on a plan for expansion in the future! Thank you again for your feedback. We wish you safe and happy travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: November, 2015
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
Cottonwood is a very nice, safe, and clean park. Owners and staff are very nice and helpful. The bathroom and showers are very nice and clean. Cottonwood RV park is the best park I have stayed at in Missouri. I would highly recommend this park.
Was this review helpful?   (0)
Response from Cottonwoods RV Park:
2/17/2016
Thank you for the wonderful review. We always make sure our guests have the best experience and keep coming back time and time again. Hope to see you on your next trip through!
Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: May, 2015
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
This park is located north of I-70 a few miles. It has lots of bells and whistles but some features -- specifically playground and restroom -- need some upgrading. Gravel sites are somewhat narrow but plenty long. Be sure to reserve ahead. They fill up fast around Mizzou activities.
Was this review helpful?   (0)
Response from Cottonwoods RV Park:
10/16/2015
Thank you for your review and feedback. It is important to us so that we can make the neccessary improvements that keep our guests satisfied and coming back time and time again. This is one of the reasons we have such a large repeat business. Yes during football season we do fill up very quick, so It is important to call ahead and make reservations. Thank you and we hope to see you back soon!
Review Page(s)
1 
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.

Directions

From Jct of I-70 & US-63 (exit 128A), Go 3 mi N on US-63 to Oakland Gravel Rd (paved), then 0.25 mi E, then .25 mi N (R); or S-bnd: From Jct of US-63 & Prathersville Rd, Go 0.2 mi E to Oakland Gravel Rd (paved), then S 0.25 mi (L)