OAK CREEK CAMPGROUND at WALTON, KY
OAK CREEK CAMPGROUND at WALTON, KY
OAK CREEK CAMPGROUND at WALTON, KY
OAK CREEK CAMPGROUND at WALTON, KY
OAK CREEK CAMPGROUND at WALTON, KY
OAK CREEK CAMPGROUND at WALTON, KY

Oak Creek Campground

Good Sam Park Type
Good Sam members SAVE 10% at this location.
Not a Member? Learn More
13329 Oak Creek Rd
Walton, KY 41094
Mailing Address
PO Box 161
Walton, KY 41094

Oak Creek Campground (11)   View All Reviews  |  Write a Review

Share this location

GOOD SAM RATING (?)
Facility

9

Restrooms

9

Appeal

9

How to Read Good Sam Directory Ratings

The three-number rating that accompanies each campground listing in the directory gives readers an at-a-glance assessment of a campground's amenities, cleanliness and environment.

How to read the Good Sam Rating 10/10 /10.
All three ratings categories are measured on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the best.Less than 1 percent of parks or campgrounds receive the coveted 10 / 10 / 10 rating, which indicates superior facilities that are well maintained, clean, well-appointed restrooms and a highly appealing appearance.Campgrounds are inspected annually by dedicated RVers like you.

Completeness of facilities

10 / 10 / 10
The first campground rating evaluates completeness and quality of facilities.In this category we rate interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance.

Cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms and showers

10 / 10 / 10
The second rating category concerns the cleanliness and physical characteristics of toilets, walls, showers, sinks/counters/mirrors and floor. If a park achieves a full point in each of the above, it receives a star (), indicating exceptionally clean restrooms.

Also rated are physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.

Visual Appeal and Environmental Quality

10 / 10 / 10

This category addresses the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.

Learn More & Check Us Out

Card(s) Accepted:
Debit, Discover, Visa, Master Card, American Express
Last Year's Rate:
$34
Season:
Open All Year

Facility

Type (Campground)
Dump Station
Mobile Sewer Service
Emergency Phone
Limited Facilities - Winter

Policies

Folding Tent Campers Allowed
Pets Welcome
Tent Camping Allowed

Sites

Total Spaces (102)
Spaces Available (50)
Width (22)
Max Length (65)
Gravel Sites (50)
30 Amp
50 Amp
Seasonal Sites
Shaded (Mostly)
Side-by-Side Hookups
Water Only (50)
Electric Only (50)
Max Amps (50)
Pull-thrus (5)
Pull-thru Size (22 x 65)
Back-ins (25 x 55)
Room for Slideouts (Yes)
Site Length (65)
Fire Rings
Table at Site
Tent-Only Sites (5)

Tenting

Dedicated Tenting Area

Internet

WiFi at Overnite Sites
WiFi at Park
WiFi at Park Supports Mobile Devices
3 Devices supported per Overnite Site
50 Sites with WiFi

Recreational Facilities

Swimming Pool
Stream
Swimming
Fishing
Body Of Water (McCoy's Fork Creek)
Rec Hall
Game Room
Planned Activities
Playground
Outdoor Games
Rec Open to the Public

Other Amenities & Services

Road Condition (Good)
Road Type (Paved/Gravel)
Restroom and Showers
Laundry
RV Supplies
Firewood
Ice
Snack Bar
Groceries
RV Storage
Near NASCAR® Track (20 mi to Kentucky Speedway)
Restrooms

Discounts

AAA Discount
Military Discount
Good Sam Discount
Customer Reviews:
Oak Creek Campground
Avg Rating 2.18 Oak Creek Campground (11) Reviews
Avg Facility Rating   Avg Facility Rating
interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance...
Avg Restroom Rating   Avg Restroom Rating
cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
Avg Appeal Rating   Avg Appeal Rating
the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Date of Stay: July, 2015
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
Campsite had no firepit or grill. WiFi did not work. Bathrooms need repaired. We actually left the campsite every time we had to go to the bathroom. Staff was extremely rude. We will never stay here again. Pool had frogs in it. Seem to care more about the music they have on the weekends instead of the way their campground looks.
Was this review helpful?   (33)
Response from Oak Creek Campground:
9/8/2017
Select campsites have grills, you can request one when making a reservation. All sites with the exception of our pull thrus have fire pits, the pull thru spaces share a community pit 30' away. Our showers and restrooms are cleaned daily and checked hourly. Things do get dirty and we clean as fast as possible. If things where not clean when you used them we hope that you notified the office as we would have quickly cleaned any messes. Our pool is outside, so frogs can get in it. Happens at all outside pools, we remove them when we see them or asked.
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: August, 2015
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
Overnight is all I would stay and only because it was right off the highway. Most sites are seasonal that have been around a long time. Old and tired rv's. Many sites have old sheds and debri. No sewers hook ups available at any sites. Many narrow roads with turn around loops on the end...only pull thru's would work for large rigs.
Was this review helpful?   (21)
Reviews: 3
Helpful Reviews: 2
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: April, 2016
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
Stayed overnight on the way home. Would not stay here long term, overnight is all I would visit. Facilities are old and need updating. Mostly seasonal campers. The Good Sam Ratings are inaccurate.
Was this review helpful?   (17)
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: May, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
I had a beautiful site, right on a small creek or stream. Everyone was friendly and all hook ups were easily accessible. The road to the campsite is extremely narrow, and pulling out onto the main road, for larger Riggs, it's tricky. The restroom, is very dated, and not ADA; I could not physically use them. I did use the shower, but again, The restroom/shower facility is dated. The sites are very picturesque along the river, if they update their restrooms, I would come back.
Was this review helpful?   (8)
Reviews: 7
Helpful Reviews: 6
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: November, 2015
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
N/A   Facility Rating
N/A   Restroom Rating
N/A   Appeal Rating
Easy-in, easy-out, close to I-75. Only stayed one night, late arrival was not a problem. Pull-thru site was level, hook-ups convenient, but no sewer at site. Did not use any of the facilities, so we can't comment on those.
Was this review helpful?   (7)
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Date of Stay: July, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
Needs serious updating. Dirty bathrooms that also do not meet ADA requirements. Men's room is bad, not sure about ladies room. Rude staff that doesn't seem to care about anything more than beer and bad local music. Good Sam rating is way off!
Was this review helpful?   (3)
Response from Oak Creek Campground:
9/8/2017
Our bathrooms are cleaned daily and checked hourly. If you found them dirty we hope that you notified the office as we would have quickly handled the issue. The bathrooms were built in 1970 and have been updated as needed over the years, our womens is slated to be redone in 2017/2018 and the mens in late 2018. We take great pride in our park and our music venue. Hosting great local bands, most bringing in over 150 people from outside the park at times, I doubt their music is that bad. We also host national country acts and host at least 1000 people per event.
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Date of Stay: June, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
Dirty bathrooms, very few tent spots. Camp in mud/dirt along creek or above office on a slope. All for the low price of $30!!! Crazy for what you get. Wifi does not work unless you are in the gravelled rv area in the front. Was there for work and had to go to the local McDonald's to use the internet. False advertising!
Was this review helpful?   (3)
Response from Oak Creek Campground:
9/8/2017
Our primitive tent spots are 20 or 15 a night, some are along our creek or above our office. It is impossible to have grass grow in areas that tents always camp due to the tents killing the grass. Part of roughing it is dealing with the elements. Our wifi works in most areas of the park, it is however hindered by the amount of shade trees we have. We advertise limited wifi, which is exactly what we offer.
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: April, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
we stayed in this campground while visiting the Creation Museum and the Noah's Ark experience. WE found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The restrooms while dated were clean and comfortable to use. Campground setting was nice except for the highway just across the creek. Even though they don't have sewer hookups the campground will come to your site and pump your waste so yo don't have to hookup and move to the dump station.
Was this review helpful?   (3)
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: August, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
tent site near nasty brook with old mattress thrown in it. they use out houses except in store building. Couldn't sleep with planes flying over all night, trains and trucks on interstate. A lot of the campers I believe live there with metal sheets making a storage shed. Saw cars on blocks,etc. Will never stay there again. Felt very nervous.
Was this review helpful?   (1)
Response from Oak Creek Campground:
9/8/2017
If a guest threw a mattress into the creek bed I can assure you it was there for just a short time until we removed it. We walk the park daily to pick up trash due to people not seeing our over 50 garbage cans placed around each camping circle. We are over a half a mile from I-75 so no interstate noise can be heard whatsoever, and a faint train whistle is possible but they are over 1 mile away. We do have a porta potty in the back of the park for our primitive tent areas to use at night. It is far from an out house, it has a motion light and is checked or cleaned daily. Our seasonal campers do have sheds for storage as they are here longer and have to cut their grass and store other items, none made from metal sheets. If anyone had a car on blocks it was to make a quick repair as we do not allow that type of thing in the park long term.
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: September, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
Could tell this was once a good place to stay. Rest rooms old, (over rated), difficult to see how well cleaned due to age and condition. Cable TV had not one clear, usable channel; even tried connecting to adjacent site. WiFi is weak and just usable. Works for an over-night stay.
Was this review helpful?   (0)
Response from Oak Creek Campground:
9/24/2017
Thank you for your feedback. The ladies room is slated to be remodeled this fall, in just the next few months. It was redone in the last 5 but the flooring has discolored badly and is being redone again. This takes away alot from the appearance of the room. The bathrooms I assure you are clean, they are cleaned daily noon to 1 and spot checked after. Our cable works at all of our overnight spaces unless an end is bad or a booster is unplugged. If you tried multiple sites it is possible your power antenna booster was on and cancelled out the cable signal. This is a common issue in many parks and often overlooked by rv'ers. We will check out cable as we do each week to make sure that it is still operational. We hope to add more channels as they become available to us from our provider. The same with wifi, our local provider only has 5 mb lines for us in our rural area. This if you know about wifi is not much for bandwidth and is easily taken over by streaming video or games. We have 5 lines running into the park to try to keep up but with todays devices it is a hard battle. Happy camping and safe travels.
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 0
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: March, 2017
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
N/A   Facility Rating
N/A   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
Stayed 6 nights while visiting the ark encounter and creation museum. Very easy access to I-75. Water and electric hookups. Our site was on the small creek. Good playground for kids. Lot's of new neighbors from I-75 every night. We did not go into the bath house. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return if in the area.
Was this review helpful?   (0)
Review Page(s)
1 
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.

Directions

From Jct of I-75 & SR-16 (Exit 171), SW 0.8 mi on SR-16 to Oak Creek Dr, NW 200 ft (L); or From Jct of I-71 & SR-14 (Exit 72), E 1.8 mi on SR-14 to SR-16, N 3.3 mi (L). Sharp left turn, swing wide