Kalkaska RV Park & Campground

Good Sam Park Type
Good Sam members SAVE 10% at this location.
Not a Member? Learn More
580 M-72 SE
Kalkaska, MI 49646

Kalkaska RV Park & Campground (2)   View All Reviews  |  Write a Review

Share this location

GOOD SAM RATING (?)
Facility

8

Restrooms

9

Appeal

8.5

How to Read Good Sam Directory Ratings

The three-number rating that accompanies each campground listing in the directory gives readers an at-a-glance assessment of a campground's amenities, cleanliness and environment.

How to read the Good Sam Rating 10/10 /10.
All three ratings categories are measured on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the best.Less than 1 percent of parks or campgrounds receive the coveted 10 / 10 / 10 rating, which indicates superior facilities that are well maintained, clean, well-appointed restrooms and a highly appealing appearance.Campgrounds are inspected annually by dedicated RVers like you.

Completeness of facilities

10 / 10 / 10
The first campground rating evaluates completeness and quality of facilities.In this category we rate interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance.

Cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms and showers

10 / 10 / 10
The second rating category concerns the cleanliness and physical characteristics of toilets, walls, showers, sinks/counters/mirrors and floor. If a park achieves a full point in each of the above, it receives a star (), indicating exceptionally clean restrooms.

Also rated are physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.

Visual Appeal and Environmental Quality

10 / 10 / 10

This category addresses the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.

Card(s) Accepted:
Debit, Discover, Visa, Master Card, American Express
Last Year's Rate:
$39 to $42
Season:
Apr 21 - Oct 15

Facility

Type (Campground)
Dump Station
Mobile Sewer Service
Emergency Phone

Policies

Folding Tent Campers Allowed
Pets Welcome
Pet Restrictions
Pet Restriction on Quantity
Tent Camping Allowed

Sites

Total Spaces (92)
Spaces Available (82)
Width (30)
Max Length (60)
Gravel Sites (82)
30 Amp
50 Amp
Seasonal Sites
Shaded (Mostly)
Big Rig Sites
Full Hookups (16)
Water Only (66)
Electric Only (66)
Max Amps (50)
Pull-thrus (27)
Pull-thru Size (30 x 60)
Back-ins (25 x 50)
Room for Slideouts (Yes)
Site Length (60)
Fire Rings
Table at Site

Rentals

Cabin/Cottage Rentals (4)

Tenting

Overflow Area
Dedicated Tenting Area

Internet

WiFi at Overnite Sites
WiFi at Park
WiFi at Park Supports Mobile Devices
2 Devices supported per Overnite Site
82 Sites with WiFi

Recreational Facilities

Heated Pool
Horseshoes
Game Room
Playground
Outdoor Games
Pavilion
Nature Trails
Pedal Carts
Bike Rentals
Rec Open to the Public

Other Amenities & Services

Road Condition (Fair)
Road Type (Gravel)
Restroom and Showers
Laundry
RV Supplies
LP Bottles Only
Firewood
Ice
Groceries
Onsite RV Service
Cable
RV Storage
Onsite Rentals (4)
Restrooms

Discounts

Good Sam Discount
Customer Reviews:
Kalkaska RV Park & Campground
Avg Rating 3 Kalkaska RV Park & Campground (2) Reviews
Avg Facility Rating   Avg Facility Rating
interior roads, sites, registration area, hookups, recreation, swimming, security, laundry, store and building maintenance...
Avg Restroom Rating   Avg Restroom Rating
cleanliness and physical characteristics of restrooms, including interior construction, adequate supplies/odor free, adequate number of facilities, exterior appearance and location in relation to park spaces, and interior appearance.
Avg Appeal Rating   Avg Appeal Rating
the park's setting and site layout, function and identification of signage, overall exterior building maintenance, noise, trash disposal, litter and debris around the grounds and sites, and appearance of grounds, sites and entrance area.
Reviews: 2
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: July, 2016
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
This is the first time visiting this park in Michigan on a busy holiday weekend. Our first impression was very small and compact.. But as the weekend went on the host did all possible to make it a good stay. The sites are quiet and clean. They offer a service to drain your tanks for you as well if you don't have full hooks ups.
The store and main build are clean and have a good atmosphere. The bathrooms are clean and user friendly in the main building.
Kalkaska campground can accommodate a big pull through rig to the basic tent.
If your looking for a nice place to stay for a few days I would recommend this park to you and your family.
Was this review helpful?   (4)
Reviews: 1
Helpful Reviews: 1
Good Sam Member
Date of Stay: July, 2016
Overall Rating   Overall Rating
Facility Rating   Facility Rating
Restroom Rating   Restroom Rating
Appeal Rating   Appeal Rating
People who run this are rude. Amenities are less than advertised. Campsites are not even close to being level. I would not recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful?   (1)
Response from Kalkaska RV Park & Campground:
4/28/2017
We are truly sorry our park did not meet your expectations. We strive to give good guest services and thought we had addressed your needs by assisting you along with your nice neighbor to back into your campsite and checked out the water pressure issue you were having inside your trailer. The cable box was given to you when you ask for cable tv. Our cable system requires a digital box receiver and not all campers ask for TV set up.
We did apologize on the day of your arrival as we were not able to change your campsite to the site next to you as it was booked with reservations for the next 14 nights.
We were glad you ask to extend your stay two days before your departure but unfortunately unable to accommodate you as your campsite was booked through the week and no other full hook-up sites were available. Even our overflow sites were booked.
July 4th weekend in Northern Michigan is our busiest time and last minute extending stays is not always feasible and again we apologized for that.
Review Page(s)
1 
Information, views and opinions expressed on this website are the views of the person posting the message, do not reflect the views of Good Sam, and are not endorsed, supported, encouraged, sanctioned, verified or agreed upon by Good Sam.

Directions

From Jct. of US-131 & M-72, E 1.3 mi on M-72 (R)